Assault and Battery Charges
Simple Assault Defense
Simple assault in Georgia is defined as the attempt to cause violent harm to another. Even if the accuser isn’t injured, you may be charged if the police department believes there was an attempt at injury. Many assault cases arise from accidents or misunderstandings with no ill will. Simple assault is considered a misdemeanor charge that bears a maximum penalty of 12 months in prison and/or fines.
Aggravated Assault Defense
Aggravated assault occurs when someone illegally attempts and is successful in committing a violent act against another individual. Georgia constitutes aggravated assault as:
- Assault with the intent to murder, rape or rob;
- Assault with a deadly weapon or object that when used can result in serious bodily injury; or
- Assault when a person fires a firearm from within a motor vehicle at another without legal justification.
If convicted of aggravated assault, you may serve a prison sentence of 1 to 20 years. Hiring a creative and knowledgeable defense attorney can be the difference between minimal, if any, jail time or having years of your life taken away.
Simple Battery Defense
Georgia defines simple battery as using physical force to intentionally harm another individual. Simple battery is a misdemeanor offense and carries a maximum punishment of a 12 month sentence with fines.
Aggravated Battery Defense
Aggravated battery occurs when a person:
- Deprives the victim of a part of his body;
- Renders part of the victim’s body useless; or
- Seriously disfigures a victim.
In Georgia, aggravated battery is a felony and carries an imprisonment sentence of 1 to 20 years.
Whether you are facing simple assault or aggravated battery charges Peach State Criminal Law is the right firm for you. Our experienced team of criminal defense attorneys will find the best solution for your case.